The Asian Composers League (ACL) is the most vibrant and active contemporary music organization in the Asia-Pacific region today. It was established in 1973 by leading composers from Taiwan, Japan, Hong Kong and Korea.

Its primary objectives are:

  • To promote, preserve, and develop the musical cultures of the Asia-Pacific region, particularly in the field of music composition; and
  • To further interests of composers in the Asia-Pacific region through representation and negotiation, and to achieve recognition of their rights in national and international law.

The official member countries/regions are:

  • AUSTRALIA      Melbourne Composers’ League
  • HONG KONG     Hong Kong Composers’ Guild Limited
  • INDONESIA    Indonesian Composers Association
  • ISRAEL      Israel Composers’ League
  • JAPAN      The Japan Federation of Composers Inc.
  • KOREA     ACL – Korea
  • MALAYSIA       Malaysian Composers Collective
  • NEW ZEALAND      Te Rōpū Kaitito Puoro o Aotearoa / Composers Association of New Zealand (CANZ)
  • PHILIPPINES      Asian Composers League Philippines, Inc.
  • SINGAPORE       Composers Society of Singapore
  • TAIWAN      Asian Composers League – Taiwan National Committee
  • THAILAND      Composers Association of New Music
  • TURKEY      New Music Cooperative of South and Southeastern Turkey
  • VIETNAM     Vietnam Musicians’ Association

The Conferences and Festivals are magnificent events which are held annually and biennially, hosted by the member countries under the auspices of the ACL. It is an important venue for promising Asian-Pacific composers with different cultural backgrounds to present their works, exchange ideas and build solidarity amongst themselves.